2022 Gala Benefit

Save the Date: June 1, 2022 - Annual Gala Benefit

The Board of Trustees of George Street Playhouse invites you to join us
for this special evening in honor of our
2022 Thomas H. Kean Arts Advocacy Award Recipients:

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Jocelyn Schwartzman
Lora Tremayne

June 1, 2022

5:00 PM
The Palace at Somerset Park
333 Davidson Avenue
Somerset, New Jersey

Black Tie, Complimentary Valet Parking

5:00 PM: Cocktail Reception,
followed by dinner & cabaret performance

Tickets & Sponsorship Opportunities

Buy an Ad in Our Gala Journal

For more information: (732) 258-7556


Robert Wood Johnson FoundationGeorge Street Playhouse will recognize Robert Wood Johnson Foundation for their support of the arts in New Jersey and their recognition of the valuable role the arts play in society and the well-being of individuals of all ages and backgrounds. Since 1972, they have worked to improve health and healthcare in the United States, supporting efforts to build a national Culture of Health rooted in equity that provides every individual with a fair and just opportunity for health and well-being, no matter who they are, where they live, or how much money they have.

Jocelyn Schwartzman

Our longest-serving Trustee, Jocelyn Schwartzman, who has been a dedicated community volunteer for the arts and the city of New Brunswick since joining the GSP Board in 1978 will be honored. For the past 44 years she has spearheaded key initiatives, served as Vice President and, using her background in fashion and design, guided the aesthetic of over 100 special events to raise funding for GSP. Mrs. Schwartzman established the theater’s very first Annual Gala Benefit, chairing it for the next 20 years.

Lora Tremayne

A dedicated volunteer in her community, Lora Tremayne, will be recognized for her 40 years of service on the  GSP Board of Trustees, including three years serving as its president. During that time, Mrs. Tremayne led the establishment of The Thomas H. Kean Arts Advocacy Award.  She has been an active member of the Gala Committee since its inception and served on  the Leadership Search Committee whose work led to the hiring of Artistic Director David Saint. She credits her own study of drama as the basis for her long commitment to the arts and the Playhouse.


Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Joan and Robert Campbell 
James N. Heston
Lucy Hughes and Sean Devlin   
Sharon Karmazin and The Karma Foundation
Melinda Raso Kirstein and Philip Kirstein    

Ruth & Stephen Hendel
Parker Health Group, Inc.
David Saint

Gala Benefit Commitee

Penelope E. Lattimer, Ph.D

Sponsorship Co-Chairpersons:
Penelope E. Lattimer, Ph.D
James N. Heston

Journal Co-Chairpersons:
Jocelyn Schwartzman
Lora Tremayne

Tickets & Tables Chairperson:
Janice G. Stolar

Gala Committee:
Joan Campbell
Paula Gentempo
Janice Haggerty
Sharon Karmazin
Adele Macula, Ed.D.
Tracey O’Reggio Clark
Nonny Stahlin